The NASAC network leadership structure consists of the General Assembly, the Board, the Secretariat, and Executive Directors from the member academies.

The General Assembly is the overall decision making body of  NASAC and is comprised of the Presidents of the member academies. The NASAC Board is the Executive arm of NASAC and it is constituted of a Presindent, 3 Vice Chairs, Member in-charge of Scientific Affairs, Secretary General, Treasurer and the Immediate Past President.

Following the successful election of the NASAC Board members during the 9th NASAC General Assembly meeting that was held in Addis Ababa Ethiopia on 15 November 2013, the new board will consist of:

  • President

Prof. Mostapha Bousmina from Hassan II Academy of Science and Technology Morocco is the current Chair of NASAC;



  • Vice Chairs 

(i) Vice Chair for  Policy Review and Administration


Dr. Yousuf Maudarbocus from Mauritius Academy of Science and Technology

(ii) Vice Chair for International Relations and Outreach


Prof. Nelson Sewankambo from Uganda National Academy of Sciences

(iii) Vice Chair for Resource Mobilization and Fund Raising


Prof. Ahmadou Ndiaye from Acadermie des Sciences et Techniques du

  • Secretary General


Prof. Barney Pityana from Academy of Science of South Africa

  • Treasurer


Prof. Bernard Aduda from the Kenya National Academy of Sciences

  • Board Member in-charge of Scientific Affairs


Prof. Oyewale Tomori from the Nigerian Academy of Science

  • Member, Immediate Past President


Prof. Robin Crewe from Academy of Science of South Africa


  • Member, Past President

Passport size photo - Hassan

Prof. Mohamed Hassan

The NASAC Secretariat, which is currently based at the African Academy of Sciences (AAS), is responsible for the formal functions and legal operations of the network.

The Secretariat is headed by the Executive Director, Ms Jacqueline Olang.

The other staff members are:

Mr. Philbert Okello - Finance Officer and

Ms Rahab Gitahi - Administrative Officer





You are here: Home About NASAC Governance

Our Mandate

The Network of African Science Academies aspires to act as an independent African forum that brings together Academies of Sciences in Africa to discuss scientific aspects of challenges of common concern, to make common statements on major issues relevant to Africa and to provide mutual support to member Academies. Drawing from this, NASAC aims to specifically facilitate the provision of advice to governments and regional organizations on scientific aspects of pertinent issues to Africa 's development through science academies.


Contact us

P. O. Box 201 Karen 00502, Nairobi, Kenya
Miotoni Lane, Off Miotoni Road, Karen

Tel: +254 020 2694730

Cell: +254 0712 914285/ +254 0733 297661